We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Show detail settings
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.


The Helmholtz Young Investigator in Diabetes (HeIDi) award recognizes the outstanding achievements of two young scientists - rising stars. Each plenary speaker nominates one young scientist for the HeIDi award. A special award committee finally selects two award winners amongst all HeIDi Nominees after they have given their lecture (the HeIDi lectures are part of the scientific program of the conference)

<h2>HeIDi-Award Nominees</h2>
<p><strong>Alexander Bartelt</strong>, Ludwig Maximilian University Munich</p>
<p><strong>Kivanc Birsoy</strong>, Rockefeller University</p>
<p><strong>Jonathan Campbell</strong>, Duke Universtiy</p>
<p><strong>Edward Chouchani</strong>, Harvard Medical School</p>
<p><strong>Elise Dalmas</strong>, INSERM Paris</p>
<p><strong>Lydia Finley</strong>, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center</p>
<p><strong>Pedro Friedmann Angeli</strong>, Rudolf-Virchow-Zentrum</p>
<p><strong>Cristina García Cacéres</strong>, Helmholtz Zentrum München</p>
<p><strong>Zach Gerhart-Hines</strong>, University of Copenhagen</p>
<p><strong>Will Holland</strong>, University of Utah</p>
<p><strong>Benjamin Hopkins</strong>, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine</p>
<p><strong>Jacob Knudsen</strong>, University of Oxford</p>
<p><strong>Pedro Moraes-Vieira</strong>, University of Campinas</p>
<p><strong>Utpal Pajvani</strong>, Columbia University</p>
<p><strong>Thales Papagiannakopoulos</strong>, NYU Medical Center</p>
<p><strong>Julie Sneddon</strong>, University of California San Francisco</p>
<p><strong>Jihye Jun</strong>, Baylor College of Medicine</p>
<p><strong>Anja Zeigerer</strong>, Helmholtz Zentrum München</p>

HeIDi-Award Nominees

Alexander Bartelt, Ludwig Maximilian University Munich

Kivanc Birsoy, Rockefeller University

Jonathan Campbell, Duke Universtiy

Edward Chouchani, Harvard Medical School

Elise Dalmas, INSERM Paris

Lydia Finley, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Pedro Friedmann Angeli, Rudolf-Virchow-Zentrum

Cristina García Cacéres, Helmholtz Zentrum München

Zach Gerhart-Hines, University of Copenhagen

Will Holland, University of Utah

Benjamin Hopkins, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine

Jacob Knudsen, University of Oxford

Pedro Moraes-Vieira, University of Campinas

Utpal Pajvani, Columbia University

Thales Papagiannakopoulos, NYU Medical Center

Julie Sneddon, University of California San Francisco

Jihye Jun, Baylor College of Medicine

Anja Zeigerer, Helmholtz Zentrum München

<h2 class="csc-firstHeader">HeIDi-Award Committee</h2>
<p>Annette Schürmann (Chair)</p>
<p>Timo Müller</p>
<p>Jens Brüning</p>
<p>Annette Peters</p>
<p>Heiko Lickert</p>
<p>Anette Ziegler</p>
<p>Henrik Semb</p>
<p>Martin Hrabé de Angelis</p>
<p>Martin Heni</p>
<p>Michael Roden</p>
<p>Hans Häring</p>
<p>Matthias Blüher</p>

HeIDi-Award Committee

Annette Schürmann (Chair)

Timo Müller

Jens Brüning

Annette Peters

Heiko Lickert

Anette Ziegler

Henrik Semb

Martin Hrabé de Angelis

Martin Heni

Michael Roden

Hans Häring

Matthias Blüher